Author Archives: Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas

Aynor’s Jenerete added to Sandlappers Coaching Staff

Shrine Bowl Athletic Director Ron Long today announced  that Robbie Briggs of Manning High School in Manning, who earlier was selected to be one of the South Carolina coaches for the 77th Shrine Bowl Game, has left Manning High School.   Coach Briggs has gone on to coach at a private school, and therefore cannot participate as a coach in ... Read More »

Shrine Bowl Alumni – NFL Draft Preview

The alumni of the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas have long tradition of playing on Sunday’s in the National Football League.  Next month we’ll see a new class of Shrine Bowl alumni be given their chance to perform at the next level after exceptional high school and collegiate careers. Below is a list of Shrine Bowl alumni recognized by NFL ... Read More »

Shrine Bowl Alumni Club

The Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas is launching a new program called the Alumni Club.  Anyone who has played, coached, been an official, been a trainer or manager of a Shrine Bowl game may join.  We hope to one day build a Shrine Bowl museum to showcase the past history of this great game. All alumni memberships will go into ... Read More »

2017 Coaching Staff

2017 North Carolina Coaches HEAD COACH: David Gentry, Murphy High School Assistant Coaches: Tim W. Carson, Weddington High School; Thurman A. Leach, Garner Magnet High School; Kevin Gilespie, Page High School; Robert A. Priest, East Bladen High School; Edward B. Shepard, East Guilford High School; Joe I. White, III, South Mecklenburg High School   2017 South Carolina Coaches HEAD COACH: David M. Gutshall, Dorman High School Assistant Coaches: Robin H. ... Read More »

About The Shrine Bowl

The Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas was first played on December 4, 1937 in Charlotte, N.C., making it the oldest high school football all-star game in the nation.  The annual game featuring many of the top high school players from North and South Carolina is played to benefit the Greenville (South Carolina) Unit Shriners Hospital for Children © and the ... Read More »

Coach Selection

The coaches for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas are selected by the Athletic Director, Ron Long.  The coaches selected are first approved by their respective governing bodies for approval. In order for a coach to be named as the head coach for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas, that coach first must have served as an assistant coach. Click ... Read More »

North Carolina Coaches

2016 Head Coach: David Lovette* Assistant Coaches: Pat Moser, Ken Avent, Jr, Steve Breitensten. Replacement Coaches: Ryan Habich, Van Smith, Tyler Hacket. *David Gentry initially selected as head coach but unable to participate due to state championships. ** Kevin Gillespie and Tim Carson initially selected but unable to participate due to state championships. 2015 Head Coach:  John Kirby Assistant Coaches:  Bobby Curlings, Antonio King, Shane Handy, ... Read More »

General Chairman

2015-Pres. Jamie Smith 2005-14 Connie Altman 2001-04 Kelly Adams 1999-00 Charles “Bucky” Walker 1997-98 J. Ronald Kenley 1995-96 Luther L. Fincher 1993-94 James F. Rorie 1991-92 Harry H. Bryson 1989-90 C.D. “Corky” McClure 1987-88 Thurman F. Council 1985-86 E.B. McLondon 1983-84 Carl B. Moore, Jr. 1981-82 Everett C. Hinson 1979-80 Thurman D. Nail 1977-78 Robert C. Vaughan 1975-76 S. Bruce ... Read More »

South Carolina Coaches

2016 Head Coach: Phil Strickland Assistant Coaches: Leonard Johnson, Charles Patterson, Michal Mayer, Daryl King, Rick Scott, Trey Wallace Replacement Coach:  Jimmy Kinard 2015 Head Coach: Wayne Green Assistant Coaches:  Louie Alexander, Wil Young, Kevin Crosby, Jimmy Noonan, Don Poole, Bill Boroff   2014 Head Coach: Ben Freeman Assistant Coaches:  Justin Gentry, Paul Southerland, Jeff Calabrese, Trey Woodberry, Robert Williams, Steve Williams   2013 ... Read More »

Athletic Directors

Name From To Years Served Ron Long 1998 Present 16 W.E. “Boogie” Smith 1996 1997 2 Charles Oswalt 1982 1995 13 Coach Dave Harris 1973 1981 8 Bob Vaughn 1971 1972 1 Carl Miller 1967 1970 3 Stan Cropley 1945 1966 21 Coach Bob Allen 1937 1944 7 Read More »